Equality and Diversity

Protected Characteristics 

The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation. Everyone in Britain is protected. This is because the Equality Act protects people against discrimination because of the protected characteristics that we all have. Under the Equality Act, there are nine Protected Characteristics: 

  1. Age 
  1. Disability 
  1. Gender reassignment 
  1. Race 
  1. Religion or belief 
  1. Marriage or civil partnership 
  1. Sex 
  1. Sexual orientation 
  1. Pregnancy and maternity 

The 9 Protected Characteristics are actively promoted within our academy through: 

  • Our school values 
  • Our school behaviour policy 
  • Conscious role modelling by all adults in the school community 
  • Active engagement and communication with parents and carers 
  • British Values teaching
  • Discussion within sessions
  • Personal, Social, Health and Economic education (PSHE) sessions 
  • Religious Education (RE) lessons, RSE lessons and Assemblies 
  • Sporting, Art and Cultural Events 
  • Educational trips and visitors 
  • Developing links with local, national and international communities and charities

Embedding the 9 Protected Characteristics into our school whole ethos promotes: 

  • Self-esteem, self-knowledge and self-confidence 
  • Respect for democracy and support for participation in the democratic process 
  • An understanding of how citizens can influence decision-making through the democratic process 
  • Acceptance of responsibility for their own behaviour 
  • Respect for their own and other cultures 
  • Understanding of how they can contribute positively to school and home life and to the lives of those living in the local community and beyond 
  • An understanding of Equality, Human Rights and Protected Characteristics 
  • An appreciation that living under the rule of law protects individual citizens and is essential for their well-being and safety 
  • An understanding that the freedom to choose and hold other faiths and beliefs is protected in law 
  • An acceptance that other people having different faiths or beliefs to oneself (or having none) should be accepted and tolerated, and should not be the cause of prejudicial or discriminatory behaviour 
  • An understanding of the importance of identifying and combating discrimination